Defence Construction Canada (DCC) honoured employees and managers from across the organization for their outstanding contributions to Client-Partner service and company operations at its 2022 National Awards ceremony in late September.

  • Spatial Data Services Group, Real Property and Environment, NCR (Bashu Acharya, John Coburn, Babatunde Fajimi, Ozge Kuden, Diane Laverty, Shawna Lessard, Jeff Liepins, Paul Lortie, Andrew Macdonald, Julius Ngeh, John Oulton, Leonardo Parra and Michel Vallée) for its role in building and rolling out DND’s Real Property Spatial Data Warehouse (Service Development Award)
  • Sarah Kane, Technical Specialist, Project Management, Gagetown, for moving forward the $680 million Recapitalize Gagetown Range and Training Area project (Customer Satisfaction Award, Individual)
  • DCS Contaminated Site Program Support Team, Real Property and Environment, NCR (Maria Drake, Andrew Mack, Geneviève Marquette, Stephen Sauveur, Kris Seiler, Erica Stacey and Joanne Woodhouse) for supporting DND in the delivery of the contaminated sites program over multiple years (Customer Satisfaction Award, Team)
  • DRDC Environmental Support Team, Valcartier (Stéphane Picher and Francis St‑Georges) for quickly responding to a major oil spill at the Valcartier Defence Research and Development Centre (Robert Graham Memorial Award)
  • PE2 Supporting Infrastructure Project Team, Western Regional Office (Samantha Dien‑Taday and Paul Imbeau) for developing and implementing a process for confirming security clearances and signing, handling and storing classified documents (Innovation Award, Internal Practices)
  • Amy Steeves, National Support Specialist, Head Office, for developing innovative ways of working with sites to increase the accuracy and responsiveness of the Client‑Partner’s Business Intelligence reporting (Innovation Award, Client-Partner Service Delivery)
  • Laura Denker, Manager, Communications, Head Office, for her major contributions to DCC’s ongoing Indigenous relations journey (Diversity and Inclusion Award)
  • Michelle Flynn, Coordinator, Regional Administration and Industrial Security, NCR Regional Office, for her knowledge, competence and significant efforts to engage, support and coordinate activities across teams and service lines (National Leadership Award)
  • Siva Gnananayakan, Site Manager, Kingston, for his leadership, dedication, hands-on approach and boundless positivity over more than 30 years with DCC (President’s Award)
  • Vice-President MOU Team, Head Office (Karl McQuillan, Mélinda Nycholat and Ross Welsman) for their steadfast efforts to update and have signed the new Memorandum of Understanding between DCC and DND (President’s Senior Management Leadership Award)

The DCC FAcT Support Team from the Western and National Capital regions (Cara Adair, Craig Banilevic, Natalie Bohm, Catherine Brazil, Nathan Brunel, Nicole Burgess, Kourosh Khazan, Julie Lemay, Amanda North, Ronda Patterson, David Pugh, Carrie Seman, Jeffery Shilling, Victoria Sinclair and Teresa Thomas) received the President’s Certificate of Recognition for team members’ can‑do attitude, technical skills and local site knowledge in support of the Future Aircrew Training Program.

DCC’s annual National Awards recognize the dedication and commitment of staff in support of the Client-Partners and Government of Canada.

In his remarks during the ceremony, Derrick Cheung, President and CEO, expressed his pride in what employees had accomplished in the previous year and his confidence that “we will continue to achieve great things in the year to come.”

Mr. Cheung also presented Kata Kitaljevich, Director, Portfolio Affairs, Public Services and Procurement Canada, with the Friend of DCC Award in recognition of her knowledge, experience, diplomacy and strategic leadership while acting as a valued advisor to DCC.

Join Our Team

Our teams are made up of professional engineers, engineering and environmental technicians and technologists, experienced tradespeople and other professionals.

Check out our current openings: